You must be the change you wish to see in the world…

Like many others the outcome of #GE2015 came as a shock – less so perhaps to those who, in greater numbers, in good faith, fear or personal belief chose a Tory Government – but to me this result has created a real sense of negativity and foreboding. Unlike many I don’t have the option to be politically active so this was, nor should it have been, my battle. In the following days I fell into a negative funk – knowing what is to come and how the most vulnerable and poorest will be affected by the further onslaught of cuts promised.

Then, one morning, a thought came to me. It was this:

Be the change you wish to see in the world

This is a quote I’ve heard before – the quote attributed to Mahatma Ghandi – and it struck a chord. On further research, as stated by the New York Times Website*: “it turns out there is no reliable documentary evidence for the quotation. The closest verifiable remark we have from Gandhi is this: “If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. … We need not wait to see what others do.”

At this point it is not chords but a who symphonic din – the true quote give so much more than the stripped down sound bite promises.

“We need not wait to see what others do” – In the absence of political agency all I have left is my own actions, my own choices. In living out what I believe in could I be a part of something that might change the world?

I can’t say that my choices will change the world, but perhaps changing my world may mean that I do everything I can to be a force for good in this world. Let me think…

* http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/30/opinion/falser-words-were-never-spoken.html?_r=0

Leave a Reply

