In Her Shoes: Charity Challenge

And I know, I know, yet another plea for funds from someone who wants to make a difference in the world, but wants you to pay for it…

Well not entirely – I’m in it with both feet so to speak. I’m planning on doing 10,000 steps a day each day from 21st March 2016 to 27th March 2016 – in support of a fantastic appeal. The Care International Walk in Her Shoes event.

IMG_7880.PNG

The campaign is simple – it’s based on the very simple belief that existence isn’t enough for our girls around the world – life shouldn’t just be about fetching and carrying water.

Care International has shared the story of Lula who, from the age of 6, started walking to collect water for her family, often walking for 2 hours twice a day and carrying loads of 20 litres at a time. She experienced excruciating back pain and the time taken up by walking prevented her from going to school.

lula-resized-2

Photo courtesy of Care International

This is not a life that young girls should live – so my aim is to raise a modest £100 – this amount will provide water and sanitation for a schoolfor a class of children for 2 years, saving their daily walk for water and allowing them to receive an education.

So how am I putting my best foot forward other than the overall benefits of getting fit and hopefully pulling in a tidy sum for a worthy cause?

Well I’m also planning to auction off my beloved shoes which don’t make the #ethical366 challenge cut (either being ethically made or being given to me as gifts). I’m aiming to launch this on the last day of the Walk In Her Shoes challenge and I hope you’ll support me in both these endeavours.

Please put your foot in it and visit my JustGiving page to make a donation (if you feel so kind) just for the heck of it, better still join me in the challenge via the Walk in Her Shoes site or await details for my “In My Shoes” auction – details to follow…

Or, if you work with me, I will be making and selling cakes to boost the fundraising coffers – please show your support!

(Pssssssttttt….I discovered this challenge leafing through a copy of The Big Issue which is a gold mine of ideas for ethical living FYI.)

Any words of support would be gratefully received – let me know if you’re planning on taking part too…

Leave a Reply

