In Her Shoes: Thank you

Last week I took part in Care International’s fundraising campaign Walk In Her Shoes – taking 10,000 steps to raise money to help advance women and girls in third world countries.

WalkInHerShoes

My week of Walk In Her Shoes

Care International has been successful in obtaining match funding from UK AID, money from the Government, so that every pound they raise before June will be doubled. This means that the £175 I have raised so far in sponsorship, by my 75,044 steps, will mean £350 in cash to help the women supported by the charity’s Help Her Live, Learn and Earn project – a campaign to introduce a number of life-changing improvements for the women and girls of the Afar region in Ethiopia – one of the most geographically remote and inhospitable areas of Africa.

CIUK-Why-Walk-graphic-outlined_800x501-1

What the funds raised will achieve (Graphic Courtesy of Care International UK)

This will mean a change in prospects for girls like Ambie , 10, who dreams of becoming a nurse but may not ever realize this dream as, instead of attending class, she walks throughout the day to collect water for her family.

Ambie-resized-for-why-walk

Ambie, 10 (Courtesy of Care International)

 

 

“I wish I could go to school, but I have to walk and that is the way it is,” said Ambie.

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been grateful to all my kind friends who’ve already supported me in this endeavour and kindly put their hands in their pockets – but as I’ve said before this isn’t my only fundraising effort – there is more to come.

That’s because this week, in the Ethical 366, I will be inviting you all to Walk In My Shoes to boost Care International’s coffers and support girls in enjoying more prosperous futures…

  • If you’ve not had chance to sponsor me and still wish to – visit my Just Giving page
Leave a Reply

