Ethical 366: April edit

April has showered a fine pick of cute casual clothes on me for the Ethical 366.

The aim of this month’s selection was to make sure I had some non-work clothes to wear. Right now the t-shirts, random tops and sad pair of 15-year-old Burberry jeans are being washed around the clock to keep me in a casual off duty look – but I needed a few more options.

12328379_267423326923866_1281979344_n.jpg

There’s limits to the wears I can get out of the teenaged Burberry jeans (photo by my 5-year-old daughter!)

This is where the £26 restriction causes me problems – it’s not that I can’t pick up a choice of great clothes at bargain prices – it’s the fact it curbs the excesses so inherent with a fast fashion habit.

Slow Fashion suggests that I should a) choose good quality, well-made items I love which I will get 30 plus wears out of but also b) choose pieces which will go with other clothes I already own to ensure I get the most out of the least. I’m still getting the hang of this so I will have to be excused – but already I’m adapting – so instead of looking to trends to fill my wardrobe, I’m just throwing caution to the wind and choosing items that I love. I live in hope that the restraint will come in time and I shall fully channel Livia Firth in my mission to have responsible style.

This month’s haul came to an under-budget £23.99 for a total of five items.

Judging by the photos I prepared for this blog, by far and away the favourite was this bright pink M&S jacket (size 12 – and due to the upside down label and lack of lining I suspect it’s a second – just loved the colour) picked up at a Willen Hospice shop in Stony Stratford. Its worn here with a Alfred Dunner (size 8) pleated floral skirt – also bought from the same store for just £4.

Alfred Dunner Skirt.jpg

I realised in editing these photos that I had pink jacket overkill so later (and in much poorer light) paired the skirt on its own with a lace Oasis blouse gifted to me by a friend some years ago – love the cuteness of this look.

lace top.PNG

Sorry for the poor selfie!

Whilst in the Willen Hospice shop I picked up this pair of cute blue skinny leg trousers, originally Zara for just £4. Its worn here with a gorgeous Topshop Petite leopard print blouse which I picked up in the Princes Risborough shop for the Rennie Grove Hospice Care charity for just £3.50.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

I’m wearing the Zara trousers yet again here with a cute cream print(bull/llama? – who can say what that print is – steer??) blouse snapped up in Oxfam Stony Stratford for £4.99.

Zara TrousersIrregular Choice courtesan

 

So, what do you think? Did I make good choices by going for what I loved? Let me know what you think!

Fashrev.jpeg

3 comments

  1. Charlotte · April 3, 2016

    I love what you have bought this month, my favourite being the floral skirt!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like your skirt too, so cute!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

